Outta My Way! I’m Workin’ Here!

Light on the Ranch doorIt’s been a busy week here on the Ranch.  We are in, as I call it, “hunker down and get ‘er done” mode.  I am going out of town next week and I always have a sense of urgency to get even the stupidest of things done before I leave.

– Write those thank you notes for my birthday gifts…from August.

– Pay the internet bill…with a check because our internet provider doesn’t have online billing nor do they autobill (only in the sticks-right?).

– Stock the fridge with food for Dave and the kids. I have to remind myself that’s it’s not as if Dave can’t feed himself or go buy cat food should the need arise.  There is a little 1950’s housewife in me who feels like Dave will live on Kraft Mac n’ Cheez and our chubby cats will starve if I’m not around.

– Wash every item of laundry I can get my hands on, leaving empty baskets.  Really?  As if Dave, the mechanical engineer, is going to put bleach in the soap dispenser, throw a load of our best colorful, knit clothes in and set the washer to hot water?

– Respond to any lingering emails or Facebook messages.  For the record, I am not going to Mars.  They do have internet where I am headed.

These are just a few of the dumb tasks that woke me up at 2:30AM today.  My brain is on overload.  In an effort not to wake the house, I got up, tiptoed into the guest room and played on Pinterest for 2 hours.  Yep.  That’ll check things off the ol’ To Do List.

Dave took the photo above this morning of the light hitting the wall and the patio door.  It makes me think that I need to just chill out and enjoy the peace and quiet of our house.

Leave a Reply

